Star the ninth

I’m creating a virtual star chart, to record my progress in Dry July. The star for making it through Friday 9 July without touching the demon drink is Cate Blanchett.

Source: WikiMedia Commons

(Description: Head and shoulders shot of Cate Blanchett, wearing a black top, blonde hair, smiling, eyes sparkling. An informal photo, taken at some public event, rather than a formal “star” shot.)

The first time I saw Cate Blanchett in a movie was when she played a young nurse in Paradise Road. She was not listed as one of the major stars in the movie, but she shined in every scene she was in.

She is one of a group of women whose performances I love, whose presence in a movie makes me want to see it, because I love watching them and their work. Think people like Judi Dench, Meryl Streep, Emma Thompson. And some others: Helen Mirren, Frances McDormand, Kate Winslet. I would be hard put to choose a favourite among these women… perhaps Emma Thompson, but for reasons beyond her acting, to do with her ethical integrity, her work for women who are trafficked for sex, and her willingness to reconsider and withdraw her previously stated support for Roman Polanski.

Comments are closed.