Star the first

I’m creating a virtual star chart, to record my progress in Dry July. The star for making it through Thursday 1 July without touching the demon drink is Alpha Centauri.

Photograph of Alpha Centauri.  Alpha Centauri front and centre, as a bright, white dot.
Source: WikiMedia Commons

(Description: Dark panel with dull red smudges, Alpha Centauri front and centre, as a bright, white dot.)

After Proxima Centauri, Alpha Centauri is the closest star to our own star, a mere 4.4 light years away. And it’s not one star, but two, dancing closely around each other. I’ve seen the two stars with my own eyes, assisted with a backyard telescope. It has always been a very romantic star to me, associated with the space operas I read as young teenager. I longed to visit it.

The first day of dry July was easy enough, despite going out to dinner with friends, or perhaps because I went out to dinner with friends, which distracted me from my usual evening ritual of getting dinner on, and then opening a bottle of wine. Mr Strange Land made it through July 1 too. 1 day down, only 30 to go.

2 responses to “Star the first

  1. I cannot hear or read the name of that star without also hearing in my head “and small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri were REAL small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri.” Young teen reading (and radio) type associations for me too 🙂

  2. Good Luck Deborah – be strong!