Marilyn Waring is awesome

New Zealand media commentary program Media 7 ran a show marking the 40th anniversary of the publication of The Female Eunuch, by Germaine Greer. The show’s producer and front man Russell Brown chaired a discussion with three New Zealand feminists, Sophia Blair, Gemma Gracewood, and the wonderful and glorious Marilyn Waring.

Marilyn Waring is fabulous. The other two women are good too, and clearly enjoyed the opportunity to talk to her.

You can watch the show on Youtube, in two sections, each about 12 minutes long. I urge you to watch it, and perhaps drop back here to say what you think of it, especially with respect to the first section.

Part One of Media 7: Discussion with Marilyn Waring, Gemma Gracewood and Sophia Blair

Part Two of Media 7: Discussion with Marilyn Waring, Gemma Gracewood and Sophia Blair

Or you can watch it in full (i.e. not split into two parts) on the Media 7 site: Media 7: Discussion with Marilyn Waring, Gemma Gracewood and Sophia Blair – full program

I’d love to hear what you think…

5 responses to “Marilyn Waring is awesome

  1. As I said over on PAS, I just wanted more.

    Massive girl crush on Marilyn.

  2. Thanks for posting this, I’d been meaning to watch this. Yes, I agree with Meganwegan, it was a shame they didn’t have more time to do it justice they only really touched on things and although MW if fab she did hijack the show, which (get ready for a sweeping generalisation) her generation seems to do to younger feminists.

  3. Except that both the younger women seemed to enjoy listening to her so much…

    She’s one of NZ’s great public intellectuals, and we give her so little honour.

  4. She’s one of New Zealand’s ONLY public intellectuals too.

    I had the privilege of talking to her a month or so ago, and came away completely inspired.

    And yeah, I agree with Deborah. Had I been on that panel, I’d have been all “dude…talk more. I have points to make, but they can wait!”

    Except, possibly I’d have been slightly more professional. *slightly*.

  5. Copy below of my post on the Hand Mirror on this topic – because it’s the main thing I have to say about it. I also like seeing the comments from others on this. I can see why some people thought Marilyn talked too much. But she was also very interesting to listen to.

    I liked this edition of Media7, especially the panel discussion. Marilyn Waring was on fire, and it was really good to get some inter-generational discussion. The biggest problem I have with it is to do with the shortness, which makes it difficult to cover the diversity within feminism.

    It was electrifying to see Germaine Greer back then with her posh British accent. I guess having her as the opening for the show has to do with her being a big part of the public face of feminism in the media – she did attract quite a few women to the cause. However, for me, I never read her, and always saw her as a bit of a populist and media attention-getter. (Though I do see more to her than that these days).

    There are much more interesting and significant feminist writers from that time, although I guess few got a lot of media attention (except maybe Donna Awatere, Marilyn Waring and Sandra Coney in NZ). I think feminism has always had a problem with getting adequate mainstream media coverage.

    In retrospect this Media7 edition did nothing to dispel the notion that feminism, then and now, is dominated by white, middle class women.

    Within those parameters, it DID touch on some important issues for feminism and it’s representation in the media: issues of domestic violence, Waring’s points about women in diverse countries and cultures, and the difference of opinion between the two young feminists about women in music videos, e.g. Lady Gaga.