Friday Feminist – Margaret Atwood

Women, and what went on under their collars. Hotness and coldness, coming and going in the strange musky flowery variable-weather country inside their clothes – mysterious, important, uncontrollable. That was his father’s take on things. But men’s body temperatures were never dealt with; they were never even mentioned, not when he was little, except when his dad said, “Chill out.” Why weren’t they? Why nothing about the hot collars of men? Those smooth, sharp-edged collars with their dark, sulphurous, bristling undersides. He could have used a few theories on that.

Margaret Atwood, Oryx and Crake, 2003

8 responses to “Friday Feminist – Margaret Atwood

  1. I heart Margaret attwood first feminist text I studied way back in sixth form.

  2. Yeah, Margaret Atwood totally rocks. I prefer her historical novels like Alias Grace and The Blind Assassin to her forward-looking ones like Oryx and Crake, but her range is amazing. She’d get my vote for the Nobel Prize – I mean, who the heck are Herta Muller and Jean-Marie Le Clezio, to name but the two most recent?

  3. The Robber Bride, The Handmaid’s Tale and The Blind Assassain for me. Plus all her early stuff: Surfacing for one.

  4. I didn’t like The Handmaid’s Tale much – I thought it was rather queasy. I suppose that was the point.

  5. Carol – I just read it, and I enjoyed it but agree it was a bit queasy-making. It’s possibly even more alarming now than when it was written. I can just see Sarah Palin as The Wife. Love the quote above too. I must read more Margaret Atwood.

  6. Another expression of Margaret Atwood love from this corner…

    I agree, I think queasy was a big part of the point of The Handmaid’s Tale (which is, despite that, one of my favourite books). Also up there for me: The Blind Assassin (with a great, if totally predictable, twist) and Alias Grace. And Cat’s Eye. And her short stories. And … and … and …

  7. And please read her non-fiction too – especially Murder in the Dark.

  8. Sarah Palin as The Wife, and Tony Abbott as The Commander..?
    Try Cat’s Eye, Vibenna. It’s about two and a half decades since I read it but I still recall the character of Cordelia clearly – gulp. Girls as scary little power freaks.