Slowly! Slowly! Say it slowly!

Because I’ve been dealing with things, and spending far too much time on the phone following things up, I’m of a mind to complain. About people who leave phone messages, asking you to return their call, and then rattle through their phone number, so quickly that you can only write down a few numbers, and then you have to replay the whole feck’n message to get the next few numbers and write them down, and then play it again! Feck!!!

Here is the way to leave your number on a phone message.

“My contact number is oh-(pause)-four-(pause)-one-(pause)-five-(pause)….”

Nice and slow. Enough time for the recipient to hear, process, and write.

Grumble, grumble, grumble….

7 responses to “Slowly! Slowly! Say it slowly!

  1. Yes – and not just slowly but twice: once at the start of the message and once at the end.

    That doubles the listener’s chance of getting it without having to replay the message at all. Then if you don’t get it the first time you’ve got a chance of getting it at the start of the first replay without the need to listen to the whole message again and again.

  2. I always repeat my phone number and say it slowly.

  3. Hellodeborahthissisgodwiththemostimportantmessageyouwilleverhearinyourlife
    canyoucallmebackpleaseokaythanksbye.

  4. I am so glad that I’m not the only one who gets annoyed by this! I was starting to wonder, since everyone who leaves me a message doesn’t seem to get it 😉

  5. I wonder if it’s in part a hearing issue. I know that my hearing isn’t as sharp as it used to be, and I don’t always catch things on phone messages. I suspect that I devote a lot of brain power to just hearing what’s being said, leaving me few resources to write something down at the same time. I’m pretty sure that I could have managed the gabble when I was in my early to mid twenties.

  6. It’s also less an endearing when all you get is “it’s Tony” — and you’re expected to immediately remember which one of the multitude of casual acquaintances of that name you’re talking to. 🙂

  7. Yeah I hate garbled phone messages too – but what’s worse if when you don’t get to the phone in time and the caller doesn’t bother to leave a message at all.