NZ Book Month – The Smallest Turtle

smallestturtleThe Smallest Turtle, written and illustrated by Lynley Dodd

I love this story. It’s very simple – just the journey of the last-hatched turtle from the hole in the sand down to the sea. The little turtle skitters past rocks and beetles and the roots of a tree, but he starts to struggle in the sun. He cools off in the shade of a leaf, and then the words come back to him: “To the sea – to the sea.” Onward he goes, past hungry gulls, and at last, he reaches the cool sea.

“It’s the SEA,” he sang,
“It’s the SEA!”

I read this many times to my girls, and each time, as they followed the little turtle’s way to the sea, they would get a little anxious, and their bodies would get tense. Would he get there? And each time, as the little turtle reached the sea, they would sigh with relief, and wriggle a bit.

This is my favourite Lynley Dodd book, and it’s the last one I will blog for this NZ Book Month series. So I won’t be writing about some other excellent ones, such as The Nickle Nackle Tree and Sniff-Snuff-Snap and Schnitzel von Krumm’s Basketwork and Hairy Maclary and Zachary Quack and Schnitzel von Krumm Dogs Never Climb Trees. Next year, maybe.

***************

NZBMsmlI’m taking up Ele’s challenge, and blogging a book a day in October, which is New Zealand Book Month. All the books are by New Zealand authors.

6 responses to “NZ Book Month – The Smallest Turtle

  1. Pingback: Tomorrow When It’s Summer « Homepaddock

  2. You – and your girls – might enjoy the Hairy McLary quiz: http://www.mallinsonrendel.co.nz/hairymaclary.asp

    I need to do some re-reading because I got only 22/30.

  3. 100% here – 32 out of 32. We had to check about four answers in our books, ‘though.

  4. Ooo, I don’t know that one. My youngest turns 8 in 2 weeks, not having a reason to buy new picture books will be the one thing I miss about them all growing up.

    *goes to check out the quiz*

  5. 29 right and I refrained from reaching for the books on the bookshelf beside me 🙂

  6. “100%” – congratulations.

    “not having a reason to buy new picture books will be the one thing I miss about them all growing up.”

    There’s no little people in our household any mroe but I still buy picture books. I leave them on the coffee table & visitors of all ages enjoy them.