Daily Archives: Wednesday 9 April 2008

“The best company”

“My idea of good company, Mr Elliot, is the company of clever, well-informed people, who have a great deal of conversation; that is what I call good company.”

“You are mistaken,” said he gently, “that is not good company, that is the best. Good company requires only birth, education and manners, and with regard to education it is not very nice….”

from Persuasion, by Jane Austen

I have been enjoying the very best company for the last 10 days or so; my parents have been staying with us. Alas, they have gone home now, but our next instalment of the very best company is due in May, when my husband’s brother and sister-in-law, who are also dear friends of ours, will be visiting.

I shall blog a little more frequently in the meantime.