Daily Archives: Wednesday 9 January 2008

I’m for Clinton

I’m for Clinton. Not that it matters at all, because I don’t have a vote, even though the eventual winner of the US Presidency will claim to be the leader of the free world, and her actions will have an enormous impact on all of us.

I’m not for Clinton just because she is a woman, although the fact that she is a woman does matter to me. I think she got what it takes, that critical mixture of idealism and pragmatism in someone who will lead the most powerful nation in the world, and at the same time govern it. Heaven knows she has issues, but what woman, or man, of 60 years doesn’t. To have lived a blameless life until what my uncle and my father call “the wisdom years” implies a life that has achieved nothing.

She is a woman of substance, and I want to see a person with real substance in the top job in the world.

But I’m concerned that she will be voted down for daring to be a woman. Gloria Steinem has a lovely op-ed piece in the New York Times, pointing out that a woman never gets to be a front-runner. The very attributes and achievements that would count for a man simply don’t count for a woman.

But what worries me is that [Obama] is seen as unifying by his race while she is seen as divisive by her sex.

What worries me is that she is accused of “playing the gender card” when citing the old boys’ club, while he is seen as unifying by citing civil rights confrontations.

What worries me is that male Iowa voters were seen as gender-free when supporting their own, while female voters were seen as biased if they did and disloyal if they didn’t.

What worries me is that reporters ignore Mr. Obama’s dependence on the old — for instance, the frequent campaign comparisons to John F. Kennedy — while not challenging the slander that her progressive policies are part of the Washington status quo.

What worries me is that some women, perhaps especially younger ones, hope to deny or escape the sexual caste system; thus Iowa women over 50 and 60, who disproportionately supported Senator Clinton, proved once again that women are the one group that grows more radical with age.

I hope she wins the Democratic nomination, and the Presidency.

Besides, won’t it be fun seeing the mad mullahs having to deal with that most suspect of beings, a woman?