I’m free!

I resigned from my job seven long weeks ago, and yesterday, I finished.

I have been working as a policy wonk in the public service, and consequently, I have been, and will continue to be, cautious about what I have said on this blog, and on others. It’s not that I know any deep, dark secrets, or indeed any secrets at all; almost all the work I have done in the last few years is ‘out’ – published on departmental websites, or available through Official Information Act requests. If it is not ‘out’ yet, it is only because the work is still under consideration. However I have been in a position of trust, and it would be breaking that trust to comment on some matters.

There’s good reason for public servants to be constrained in what they say about political matters, especially when they are in policy and high level management roles, rather than working on the operational side. We serve the government of the day, and the parliament, not political parties. The government and parliament need to be confident that the advice we offer is free and frank, given without desire for reward, or fear of punishment.

Nevertheless, I am now much more free to say what I think. I like that.

I’m not going on to another job, for the time being anyway. I’m going to be a housewife. I’m sure there’s some fancy name I could use for the role (home maker, family manager, whatever), but I prefer to use the standard word. We are hoping that it will take some of the stress out of our lives. It will take some time – I am still wound-up tight from work-related stress, and I suspect that it will take a few weeks for me to relax, and wean my body off all the stress adrenaline that it has learned to love.

It’s an expensive solution to the work-life balance problem, especially in terms of my future career. But, c’est la vie. This has been my third career, and I see no reason not to have a fourth in due course. Any seemly suggestions about what I could do next will be given careful consideration.

On Monday, I’m going shopping.

One response to “I’m free!

  1. Congratulations, Deborah – it’s a wonderful feeling waking up that first Monday! I look forward to your more candid musings.