I wonder if it’s possible to talk about gender differences without being mansplained in comments?

Cross posted

Which may account for what Prof. Barres calls the main difference he has noticed since changing sex. “People who do not know I am transgendered treat me with much more respect,” he says. “I can even complete a whole sentence without being interrupted by a man.”

Read the whole thing: He, Once a She, Offers Own View On Science Spat

H/T: Ophelia Benson, at Butterflies and Wheels

2 responses to “I wonder if it’s possible to talk about gender differences without being mansplained in comments?

  1. “People who do not know I am transgendered treat me with much more respect”

    Interesting. Are these “people” of one gender, or both? What led Prof. Barres to use the term “people?” I don’t have an answer, but it seems to raise all sorts of interesting questions.

  2. That was really interesting, though not at all surprising!