Shame

I feel so ashamed.

Protestors holding sign saying, "No to refugees."

.
Detention centre debate begins

We live in one of the richest nations in the world, and we cannot even behave with minimal decency to children whose parents have made a desperate journey to come here. Some people there wanted to offer welcome and support to these people, but most people wanted to have nothing to do with them, and certainly didn’t want to have them in their own comfortable community.

I wonder how many of these people go to church on Sunday, or send their children to church schools, where they claim to teach Christian compassion?

Update: Grog’s Gamut has an excellent post – The triumph over power, prejudice and bigotry…

To be honest, I doubt the 500 people who attended the meeting reflect the real view of most people who live in the hills. My suspicion is more than a few of those who attended the meeting don’t even live in Woodside. If Jamie Briggs wants them to be his supporters, then go for it – but he can then forego any crud about him being “a moderate”. My view is that the real majority of the residents is voiced by people such as Kim Galdigau who “said the Christian church community in the area wanted to know what it could do to help”.

6 responses to “Shame

  1. It is disgusting that people can be so hateful. I wish they were made to walk a mile in the shoes of an immigrant from afghanistan.

  2. My wife and I were listening to this hate-filled rabble on the radio news this morning. It was frightening. I had to restrain myself from giving the Hitler salute. It was like the tirade of bigotry on the steps of the NZ Parliament back in 1985 when Keith Hay’s mob turned up with their petition against Fran Wilde’s bill.

    But then look at the position of the indigenous people in this country today, and the callousness shown towards the children of refugees is unsurprising.

  3. It’s not about fear that it’ll lower the values of their own houses is it? Because would be entirely believable (though also shallow).

  4. I feel saddened that the media has chosen to focus on those hills residents that are opposed (and from my discussions this is a minority). As a hills resident (and practicing Christian), I am jumping hoops at the thought that we can offer these refugees accommodation that is starting to resemble a home rather than a prison. We are a common humanity and the sooner these rednecks learn this, the better.

  5. I’m really glad to hear that your feeling is that it’s a minority, Melissa. I’ve got no doubts about your genuine Christianity, and humanity. Let’s hope that the local press manages to talk to some of the people who plan to support the refugees; it would be nice to get some better stories out there, instead of whipping up yet more hysteria about the few hundred people who manage to reach Australia in leaky boats.

  6. There’s no need for you to feel ashamed. Angry, yes. I certainly am.