Now we’ve done it

Damn! We’ve gone and signed up for Dry July. Personally, I blame tigtog: it was her idea.

The idea of Dry July is that you go dry for July (that is, you don’t drink any alcohol), and get people to sponsor you. The money goes to support adult cancer patients. So you achieve a double good: a de-toxification, and raising money for a Good Cause.

No wine. For a whole month. And a long month at that. I’m a little unclear as to why I signed up for this, except that Ms Eleven laughed cynically, and said, “I bet you can’t do it.” Also, she promised $2 for the cause if I did manage to do it. Mr Strange Land has signed up for this exercise in restraint too. The sign-up page invited us to give our reasons: he ticked “Other” and wrote, “Wife.”

We’ve signed onto team Hoydens Ahoy, and anyone who wishes to make a donation in support of us is most welcome to do so.

There’s just one small problem. We’re expecting some drinking visitors in late July. I figuring that we can hold out for most of their visit, but I suspect we will be “buying” some Golden Tickets for one night of their stay. For a mere $25 each, we can get golden tickets, and spend more money to buy some wine, and drink it. There’s something that’s bothering me about this, but I haven’t quite worked it out yet.

It will be hard going for me. I enjoy a glass or two or three of wine in the evenings, and I miss it if I don’t have it (that ought to be ringing little alarm bells). I have decided that I need some motivational star charts – one on the fridge, with little gold star stickers, and one virtual one, on my blog. Expect a star post a day, beginning on 2 July, to record my progress.

13 responses to “Now we’ve done it

  1. I hope it goes well. I did FebFast last year and while it was hard, it was easier to not drink at all than to limit myself to drinks per night or nights per week. I also did feel better – I slept better certainly. I should redo a period of abstainence…

  2. For a mere $25 each, we can get golden tickets, and spend more money to buy some wine, and drink it. There’s something that’s bothering me about this, but I haven’t quite worked it out yet.

    I thought only the Pope was allowed to sell indulgences?

  3. You could always join team Hoydens Ahoy!

  4. I’ll pass, this time, but only ’cause with a one year old that frequently wakes through the night, a couple of glasses of wine is an essential calmative… for me I mean…

  5. I didn’t know that dry July was actually a ‘thing’. I thought it was just something that a few people did to loose weight during a very non-festive time of the year… I asked Ray if he wanted to do it and he said no (although has said that will probably have a dry September/October anyway).

  6. Pingback: Weakness « Craft is the New Black

  7. I usually take a couple of months off booze per year. It’s a good exercise. If you don’t have a problem with not drinking, then it’s … er… not a problem. But if you do have a problem with not drinking, then it’s probably a good thing that you’re not drinking. If you see what I mean.

    I tend to find that I miss booze for a week, then we’re all good. I do tend to get sugar cravings late at night, but that’s about the only side effect. At the end of the period, it takes me about two days to get used to the taste of alcohol again.

    But if you’re not drinking, what’s with the indulgences thing? Why not just have drinking guests, serve them some booze, and not drink yourself? There’s nothing wrong with sitting on the sidelines. ;)

  8. ok, i’m finding this funny & know that i’m being insensitive (sincere apologies!). but never having had an alcoholic drink in my life, i’m finding it hard to see this as a severe restriction. but i guess it’s the same way that people who don’t smoke or do drugs won’t understand the addictive nature of these things or the impact of not having them. not that i’m calling you an addict – don’t mean to imply that at all!

    now a ban on chocolate for a month – that is something i could relate to!

  9. I agree with Jack – it is indeed a good exercise to taihoa on the drinking every now and then. Like you, Deborah, I enjoy a glass or two in the evenings, one while I prepare dinner, perhaps another when we have dinner, but it’s ever so easy for the consumption to just creep up to the point where one is having, say, 15-20 standard drinks a week, which is probably too much in the long term, not to mention expensive. Hard to know if it’s addiction or just habit.
    In any case I find it’s a good idea just to consciously cut back a bit and have a few evenings off.

  10. the heart trouble means medication, and the medication doesn’t like booze. at all.

    consequently i’m not tea-totaller, and thought i miss the social side, am feeling a lot better for it.

    lost around 5kg too.

  11. Is this our mutual friends that are visiting? If yes then I ‘m not sure how easy it is going to be for you to resist alcohol! Still, I don’t like the idea of buying these “golden tickets”. If you are getting sponsored to not drink but then drink (even if you buy a golden ticket) then surely you haven’t earned the money? When kids do the 40 hour famine but eat something before the end then they only get sponsor money for the hours before they ate! Of course it’s easy for me to say as I will not be having a dry July!

  12. I’m not sure how the rules around those golden tickets work… No, not our mutual friends, but other friends who drink. We have lots of those… can’t quite work out why.

  13. As one forced into abstemiousness, I think your voluntary embrace very worthy. That may be the problem – doing good feels good for only so long, and then it’s a trial.
    Perhaps you should spend the money you’re not spending on alcohol on other daily indulgences: massage, food, frivolous books and music, perfume, Mr Strange Land.