A picture to savour

On the front page of ABC News:

A picture of Julia Gillard, titled, “Prime Minister Gillard”.

18 responses to “A picture to savour

  1. Good luck Australia.
    May she be as long-lasting and distinguished as Helen Clark’s service was in New Zealand.

  2. I know over here, we’re a little spoiled….and yet: Wow.

  3. I’ve got vicarous goose bumps too.
    Oh, how I wish the NZ Labour party had a JG equivalent!
    But still, as Megan says.

  4. I meant ‘vicarious’ of course ..

  5. Go on Julie Bishop, knife Abbott, and we’ll have a trio–just like NZ achieved some years ago.

  6. @ Lucy Sussex – that would be brilliant! Bring it on Julie, you know you want to. We all want to.

  7. I just wish the commentary I’ve read (and don’t know if it’s at all typical) wasn’t quite so heavy on the “oooh, ladybits in The Lodge” angle. Perhaps my perspective as a Kiwi is rather warped, because we don’t find women at the top table such a novelty, but I’m much more interested in how Gillard thinks she’s going to get the numbers for a carbon tax — or any form of “super profits” resources tax that doesn’t make her own backers shit bricks — when Rudd couldn’t.

    You know, boys, girls can do POLICY too.

  8. And in one of her first acts as Prime Minister… well, it’s unfair to say she surrendered to the mining industry (or ‘corporate welfare bludgers’ as I like to call them) when she didn’t even begin to fight.

    http://www.smh.com.au/business/gillard-vows-to-scrap-mining-tax-ads-20100624-z14a.html

  9. My first thought is yah! And then the mining thing kicks in and I think… irk.

  10. Oh hell, the Julie/Julia cooking gags…

  11. I didn’t actually *believe* that this would happen in my life time. How lovely that I have been proved wrong.

  12. Craig, she’s just scrapped the ads, which were against the party’s own guidelines anyway.

    They have a board which is supposed to review government advertising to make sure it’s actually a public service announcement (or whatever) and not propaganda, and the mining tax ads didn’t even get reviewed by that board.

  13. Lyrablake:

    She’d done more than that — but, hey, I guess it was utterly coincidental that mining shares started climbing minutes after after it was clear that the Rudd-roll was a done deal. I hope someone going to start asking Gillard some actual questions about what “negotiations” with the mining industry really means and what kind of “fair taxation” would prevent folks like Twiggy Forrest from cranking up the smear machine again.

  14. *putting to one side Craig’s glass half empty approach to political life*

    I heard via text on Thursday, as I was helping run a seminar all day, and when I told everyone else at the seminar (almost all women, but no Australians) people were quite pleased. Not sure what that says really, beyond that it the first female leader is still seen as a significant barrier to break, and as such does deserve some form of celebration.

    I don’t know much about Australian politics, particularly the weird (to me) factionalism of Labor, but it seems like Gillard is what passes for left there, but had backing from the right?

  15. *putting to one side Craig’s glass half empty approach to political life*

    Excuse me? I’m perfectly happy to give credit where credit’s due, but the Australian mining industry has a perfectly clear track record of handing a glass brim-full of poison to any politician who dares to even suggest that they should pay taxes, have to follow any kind of labour or environmental standards etc.

    Pardon me for being cynical, but I’ve seen little evidence that chivalry is alive and well with the mining interests and their well-lubricated lobbyists.

    And I’m going to pay Gillard and every other woman in public life the basic respect of taking their policies and actions seriously.

  16. Pingback: 26th Down Under Feminists Carnival: The Leadership Edition « a shiny new coin