Pianissimo

Things will be a little quiet around here for a few days. I’m going to a party. In New Zealand. By myself.

I’m leaving today, which is a very good thing: today’s high temperature in Adelaide is predicted to be 43 degrees. In Wellington, it will be 17 degrees. I prefer the latter. (Temperature predictions from BoM and the Met Service respectively.)

It’s a flying visit home – into Wellington late Thursday evening, staying with my beloved uncle, lunch with a friend and dinner with my parents, party on Saturday, up to Auckland on Sunday where I am seeing two friends, one of whom I haven’t seen for about six years, and then back to Adelaide and my lovely girls and my lovely partner on Monday.

All that way, for such a short visit…

The party is to celebrate my aunty’s 80th birthday. We lost two people from that generation last year, and I wasn’t able to get home for the funerals. When my mum told me that a family party was being planned, I thought that I should try to get there if it was at all possible.

Ka kite ano!

8 responses to “Pianissimo

  1. Wishing you a fantastically enjoyable time catching up with people in NZ.

  2. Bon voyage, Deborah. It’s a beautiful day in Wellington today – cool, fresh and sunny.

  3. Travel well my friend.

  4. Have a wonderful time and enjoy the cool weather :-)

    My grandma turns 99 tomorrow, we’re doing the family party thing too, I’ll be catching up with cousins I haven’t seen in ages.

  5. If it wasn’t such a flying visit you could drop in on the way past. Travel safe :)

  6. Enjoy. Wellington, cool, fresh, inviting. Have a good break.

  7. I will rejoice in briefly being in the same city as you! :)