I want to see plus size models

Karl Lagerfeld has been sneering at the recent mini-trend towards plus average sized women being models in fashion shows and in fashion magazines. (Is size 14 – European sizing – really “plus” size? It looks like a perfectly ordinary size to me – nothing “plus” about it.) According to Lagerfeld, no one wants to see chubby women on the catwalk.

Well, we wouldn’t really know, would we, because it hasn’t exactly been tried much until very recently. But here’s some news for Lagerfeld; plus size models are greeted with cheers when they appear on the catwalk. I think he’s just plain wrong.

And Mr Lagerfeld – beware of those sweeping statements. I want to to see average and larger, and slimmer, sized models on the catwalk and in magazines. And I’m sure I’m not the only woman who feels this way.

But perhaps you would like to judge for yourself. Which woman on this cat walk looks fabulous?*

* If you choose to answer this question in comments, could you please do so in positive terms? I will delete any derogatory comments.

18 responses to “I want to see plus size models

  1. I like the black number myself, although the silver is rather fetching.

    My husband wants to see curvy women, especially me. And I’m a plus plus model.

  2. When I see too-thin models I don’t admire the clothes I worry about the health of the woman wearing them.

    The ones in the link don’t look “plus” to me, they look average or smaller but they do look healthier than the “minus” models.

  3. Well, exactly, Homepaddock (and I totally agree with you, Deborah). Hurrah for Mark Fast! And booo for Karl Lagerfeld.

  4. Comments about the possible health of the women are a bit disturbing. Yes, there are health problems in the modelling industry, but you can’t tell an individual woman’s health by looking at her and even if you could, it’s not exactly productive.

    But I actually wanted to say that the black dress is the most excellent per the photos, in my view, but it’s the red dress that I’d love to wear myself. Funnily enough, if I’d just seen the pic of the red dress, I’d think ‘nah, wouldn’t suit me’, but it’s because i’ve seen the first two pics that I can think ‘oh yeah, a different size may well suit me’, combined with the colour, which I love, and that kind of neckline, which I can generally pull off. And the detail of it is good, too – not plain, but not too frilly, which I probably wouldn’t feel like myself in. The necklines on the other three probably wouldn’t suit me at all, and they’re all a bit too frilly (not quite the word I want – more, there’s too much going on).

  5. Average-sized women, and they are women rather than teenage girls. No wonder Lagerfeld is worried: his world has been turned upside-down.

    My vote goes to the redhead.

  6. Well, seeing as this is an invitation to comment on people’s appearances … I think the designers’ preferred models have been looking increasing weird in recent years. Almost not human, with elongated jaws, cavernous cheeks, staring deepset eyes, bizzarely long limbs, ribs that stare back at you, and strangely hunched shoulders.

    But I’m sure they are perfectly nice people, and that I look equally weird to everyone on the world they come from. Bride of Alien, anyone?

  7. mmmmm…… that’s almost skating on the border of the negative comments about people’s appearance that I was hoping to avoid. But I realise that it’s not about the particular people in that shot, more about the general model trope.

  8. I always wondered if the contest was called ‘Miss Universe’ because competitors from other solar systems could enter – and many did. I agree with Vibenna about the weirdness.

  9. What’s most disturbing about this is that these women are considered “plus size” and perhaps not an ideal definition of beauty. They’re STILL thinner than the average woman, so what are we supposed to think?

  10. The pictures in the link made me wonder if part of the reason people in the fashion industry are so resistant to more normal-sized models is because when every model in the show is skinny I look at the dresses and don’t think about it too much, but when there is a mix of sizes the skinny models look unhealthy (to me) in comparison.

  11. Is it wrong of me to suspect that the real reason is that drugged-up and hungry young women are much easier to exploit?

  12. Size 14 is already below average – 45% of British women are size 16 or above.

    It’s time we stood up for healthy humanity, and collectively stopped fashion editors and designers from enabling each others’ neuroses.

    I watched Fashion TV and saw a lot of scowly little pubescent faces that should have been poking above gym slips, but were instead painted and teased to a faretheewell and stuck into barely-there clothes aimed at another age group entirely. It’s just wrong, wrong, wrong.

    And my husband, god bless him, sees that stick- figure Victoria Beckham on TV and shouts “Somebody give that woman a pie!” She was a pretty nice looker before the eating disorder. What has it cost her long-term health to become fashion’s darling?

  13. I hate hate hate those shoes – they are seriously unflattering to the models. I think bigger women look better – their legs are rounder and less stick-like so they look less like insects. This is a general comment, not meaning those particular women, although…

  14. Stephen, I think you might be on to something. The amount of effort it must take to stay that thin – surely they’re constantly thinking about food? – means they’re hardly going to fight for their rights. (Now I’ve got the Beastie Boys in my head.)

  15. I would prefer to see designer’s clothes on models who aren’t model-like, because I reckon any piece of junk can look good on a tall, slim woman with amazing cheekbones. If a designer can produce clothes that look great on a less-than-perfect body, then THAT’S a good designer.

  16. Violet, I’m not sure what a perfect body *looks* like. I know what it *feels* like – it feels great, because it’s working properly (I have a looong memory!). But I don’t think you can always tell by looking at someone whether their body is perfect or less-than-perfect. Perfection, like beauty, comes from the inside, IMO.

    If you mean that a good designer can design clothes to make all shapes and sizes of women feel comfortable and good about their appearance, we’re in agreement.

  17. According to Lagerfeld, no one wants to see chubby women on the catwalk.

    I certainly don’t want to look at Lagerfield because his pallor, crappy skin and emaciated frame creeps me out. Makes me wonder who really needs an intervention at the House Coco built: The models or the designer.

  18. Ct m sm slck wth th pltclly crrct bllsht trm “pls szd”, w dn’t nd nthr wrd fr “ft”, “bs” r “dsgstng t lk t”.

    Sze 14 lk, bggr tht thn s ft. dn’t rlly wnt th “ctwlk” rnmd “cwwlk” s th bs mdls cn prd n th skmpst drsss thy cn fnd.

    [Disemvowelled - anonymously offensive]