Daily Archives: Monday 12 October 2009

I want to see plus size models

Karl Lagerfeld has been sneering at the recent mini-trend towards plus average sized women being models in fashion shows and in fashion magazines. (Is size 14 – European sizing – really “plus” size? It looks like a perfectly ordinary size to me – nothing “plus” about it.) According to Lagerfeld, no one wants to see chubby women on the catwalk.

Well, we wouldn’t really know, would we, because it hasn’t exactly been tried much until very recently. But here’s some news for Lagerfeld; plus size models are greeted with cheers when they appear on the catwalk. I think he’s just plain wrong.

And Mr Lagerfeld – beware of those sweeping statements. I want to to see average and larger, and slimmer, sized models on the catwalk and in magazines. And I’m sure I’m not the only woman who feels this way.

But perhaps you would like to judge for yourself. Which woman on this cat walk looks fabulous?*

* If you choose to answer this question in comments, could you please do so in positive terms? I will delete any derogatory comments.

NZ Book Month – The Smallest Turtle

smallestturtleThe Smallest Turtle, written and illustrated by Lynley Dodd

I love this story. It’s very simple – just the journey of the last-hatched turtle from the hole in the sand down to the sea. The little turtle skitters past rocks and beetles and the roots of a tree, but he starts to struggle in the sun. He cools off in the shade of a leaf, and then the words come back to him: “To the sea – to the sea.” Onward he goes, past hungry gulls, and at last, he reaches the cool sea.

“It’s the SEA,” he sang,
“It’s the SEA!”

I read this many times to my girls, and each time, as they followed the little turtle’s way to the sea, they would get a little anxious, and their bodies would get tense. Would he get there? And each time, as the little turtle reached the sea, they would sigh with relief, and wriggle a bit.

This is my favourite Lynley Dodd book, and it’s the last one I will blog for this NZ Book Month series. So I won’t be writing about some other excellent ones, such as The Nickle Nackle Tree and Sniff-Snuff-Snap and Schnitzel von Krumm’s Basketwork and Hairy Maclary and Zachary Quack and Schnitzel von Krumm Dogs Never Climb Trees. Next year, maybe.

***************

NZBMsmlI’m taking up Ele’s challenge, and blogging a book a day in October, which is New Zealand Book Month. All the books are by New Zealand authors.