Because it’s never wrong to use women’s bodies to sell things

The Otago Daily Times (ODT) is one of New Zealand’s more conservative papers. So it’s not at all surprising that it has turned down this advertisement for a restaurant in Queenstown:

downsouthad

The National Business Review (NBR) reports that the advertisement was turned down because it was “too suggestive.” Apparently, the restaurant and its advertising agents were trying to create an advertisement that would go viral, with “a good level of interaction that would capture people with humour.” The NBR describes the ad as “cheeky” and “naughty” – words that indicate a trivial level of wrong doing, mischief rather than anything wrong at all. Clearly, anyone who doesn’t like the ad just doesn’t have a sense of humour.

Well, that would be me then. Because I see nothing amusing at all in exploiting women’s bodies.

And of course, the ODT is now being derided for being “wowsers.” Great. NB: DON’T read the comments thread in that link.

5 responses to “Because it’s never wrong to use women’s bodies to sell things

  1. If I never recommended to you the Italian documentary “Il corpo delle donne”, here in English under the title Women Bodies, I deserve some sort of punishment.

  2. I think you did recommend it to me, on Facebook, but (hangs her head in shame), I haven’t watched it until now. It’s…. disturbing.

  3. It might’ve been cheeky if it were original, but the concept is hardly that.

  4. I don’t know if this makes me a bad ‘person with a sense of humour’, but my first thought was that the ad was juvenile and uninspired.