Don’t panic

This is the last thing our Mac Mini said to us.

lastmessagepanic: We are hanging here…

Mr Strange Land ran the hardware diagnostic disk, and it gave us this impenetrable message:

2MEM/104/4:DIMMO/J11

Apparently it’s a RAM problem of some sort. We’ve taken it into our local Mac repair shop to see what can be done, and in the meantime, we’re using an old laptop.

I have a twitchy feeling about this. It could be very, very expensive.

11 responses to “Don’t panic

  1. Oooooh… if the computer says it’s panicking I think I’d be hysterical. Or is it telling you to panic…? Either way, sounds baaaad.

  2. what an awful feeling that must be…I’ve realised during this move just how attached I am to my computer…hope it is returned home to you soon

  3. Don’t panic. It is just memory, which can be replaced easily. If the bill seems outrageous, check the retail price of the RAM that has been installed and ask how much of the bill is labour. Complain loudly if you have been charged too much for the memory or the shop claims the job took ages, because it will not have done so.

  4. Ye gads, I would find that very panic-making indeed. Shades of my favourite chapter of Hitchhikers. Although on the upside Arthur does learn to fly kind of because of that bit.

  5. Thanks for the advice, Paul. However, it’s hard not to panic when that’s what your computer is advising you to do. And I’m still worried that this is just the most obvious problem, and there are lurkers which only the Mac experts will find.

    Fortunately I have most things backed up. But not everything. Like all my holiday snaps.

    I think I will be making SERIOUS RESOLUTIONS about backing things up, regularly.

  6. It is called kernel panic; it’s a Unix thing. It is not you that should panic, but the computer which is panicking.

    But yes, back it up. The latest version of the Mac OS has software which does it all for you.

  7. Hmmm…. I will choose to treat that as reassuring, Paul, even though words like ‘unix’ and ‘kernel’ make me a little queasy.

    Many thanks!

  8. Deborah, we have invested in external discs that attach to our Macs and back up automatically several times a day using the Time Machine software. No more worries!

  9. I can only agree with Paul and M-H (while vicariously panicking with you and your computer).

    My mac’s HD fried without warning in November. I backed up stuff every week. However, it’s just amazing what is lost in a week’s worth of work. At that point in the year I was writing lectures and making power points for a new course at the last minute. So for a week the students had to endure me writing on the blackboard and talking impromptu. I’d like to pretend it made for a better learning experience, but I don’t think it did!

    Time Machine is brilliant. They know we’re all too slack to back up regularly, so they make it relatively heedless and painless.

  10. Bugger. It’s the logic board. Expensive. So expensive that it’s probably better to spend a bit more and get a whole new computer.

  11. But MH, what if the external disks fail!

    (Paranoid Mac user, who just puts stuff on USB sticks – yeah I can talk.)