Daily Archives: Wednesday 24 December 2008

The cake that taste forgot and other joys of Christmas

I vaguely recall rashly promising that I would blog the process of icing our Christmas cake, provided I hadn’t been pouring too much brandy into the cake (and me).

The cake is now iced, and photos taken, but it’s Christmas Eve, and I’m busy running around doing this, that and the other thing. So the blog of the process will have to wait until next year, and all you get to see is the finished product.

xmascake

The strangelings stood at the end of the bench in a fascinated row, and offered helpful suggestions as I iced the cake. I think that accounts for its appearance.

When I was child and a teenager, my parents would take us to Midnight Mass, and then we would come home, cut the cake, and drink a glass of sherry. We won’t be doing the church thing with our girls, but we will cut the cake this evening, and I will read “The Night Before Christmas” and then we will send them off to bed. Some of them are still believers, in Santa, that is, so later on, we will put stockings (pillowcases, actually) at the ends of the beds, and fill them with goodies. Not full to the top, you understand. Santa is always fairly modest in his gift giving around here – books, clothes, sweets and a small toy each. The girls are very excited, but we have issued them with strict instructions about not opening presents until 6am.

Because I am busy, and have far too much to do, I spent some time yesterday making my first ever batch of pickles.

pickles

This is Red Onion and Capsicum Jam – beautiful on crackers (biscuits for American readers), lovely with lamb and ham, and alongside vegetarian bakes. I am very proud of them, and having found out how surprisingly easy it is to make them, I think I will be making more. That’s my first resolution for 2009 – make pickles and chutneys and jams.

I made the pickles to give to friends as a Christmas offering. This year I have also been making chocolate fudge and caramel fudge to give to the girls’ teachers and our neighbours and friends. I promise to give you the recipes in the New Year.

fudge

And there you have it – my second resolution for 2009 – some more recipe blogging.

Thank you for coming by and reading my blog this year. My best wishes for a happy and blessed Christmas (if you do Christmas, that is) and a peaceful New Year.

Update: I’ll be adding The Secret Talent of Albert Otter to the Christmas Eve reading list, on what the girls are rapidly finding to be the longest day of the year.