Does anyone know…

Does anyone know what these fruit are? They are beautiful golden globes, about 3cm in diameter, and it would be lovely to use them for something, if only I knew what. All seemly suggestions will be gratefully received.

They came from this tree in our back yard.

20 responses to “Does anyone know…

  1. Oh darn… I stuffed up the link :(

    Here we go… Loquat

  2. Loquats.

    Welcome to South Australia. The trees were ubiquitous in my childhood, completely out of fashion now (by which I mean, no one plants them, and everyone cuts them down). Do let me know if you’ve got any spare. They’re kind of hard work to eat, because of the seeds, but they’re bloody delicious. The trick is, leaving them on the tree long enough to ripen, but not so long that the birds get them.

  3. Loquats!

    Oh, I hate coming 3rd. They actually grew quite well in the Waikato – we used to nick them from random gardens on the way home from school.

  4. Nana! My nana had a loquat tree, bladdy delicious.

  5. There was a loquat in my parent’s garden when we moved in, but it didn’t survive the re-building of the back of the house, so I’ve no idea how they taste. Do let us know!

  6. I see everyone else beat me to it. Yes – loquats. We had a tree in this house when I moved in, but I think my evil neighbour poisoned it because she didn’t like it near her fence line. The nearby lemon tree mysteriously withered as well. Evil nasty neighbour – I miss both those trees.

  7. we used to get them in the mount as well. they’re damn tasty, and only have one down-side. giant seeds.

    or, what thirdcat said.

  8. I had a loquat tree when I lived in Seatoun, Wellington, in the teeth of the southerly screaming knife-edged through the Pass of Branda. It bore very well, so they are hardy little brutes. Not a lot of flavour, but loquats are quite pleasant when warmed by the sun and offer a nice handy snack as you hang the clothes out.

    There are many loquat recipes on the web. Be wary, as some of them will be aimed at tropical loquats which are bigger and have more flesh on them than colder weather varieties. Same big shiny seeds though!

  9. Sheesh, I cannot even pretend that I knew what they were, but I am pretty sure that you can make loquat jam? It’s tugging at the grey matter for some reason…

  10. Is there an etymological connection with loquacious?

  11. Nope.
    Loquacious derives from the Latin “loquax” (from the verb “to speak”), whereas a lo kwat is the original Chinese name for the fruit – Cantonese I think.

  12. Perhaps you might like to come by and get some one day soon, ThirdCat. Will be in touch.

    I’m contemplating making jelly. I suspect that the thought will suffice, and there will be no jelly action, but it’s a nice thought to be having.

  13. I had one in the house that I grew up in on the Waikato – but a developer bought the property and he knocked down our orchard. Pains me to see it now!

    But man them fruits was num!

  14. Firstly, I apologize for my lateness to this.

    I remember seeing a film, years ago, it might have been our world or something similar. The film showed african animals eating what I think I remember to be fermenting loquats.Then the animals started to behave drunken oddly.

    I used to make wine out of loquats, but it made me begin to behave a bit like the drunken animals, so I stopped doing it. They are a good fruit, I often graze on them. We had an unusual tree when I was a child. I only fruited heavily every other year.

  15. We must be of very much the same vintage, Steven. I remember seeing that film, and the drunken animals. I think it was Animals are Beautiful People, and if it was, then the animals were eating the fruit of the marula tree.

    Right now my girls are having lovely fun collecting the fruit. They eat some of it too, but so far, they haven’t gotten drunk on it.

  16. Yes, the vintage, 1966. I found the film on Youtube.

    I don’t know how to work hypertext stuff here but.

  17. steven, that was absolutely brilliant. Now I know what a drunk elephant looks like, lying in the gutter desperately reaching for just one more drink.

    Kudos to you!

    (PS. And very good foley work too …)

  18. They are indeed loquats – the size of their seed with tell you if they have been grown from seed or from a grafted plant. Grown from seed will mean they have a bigger seed and tougher skin but better flavour and better for jam making.

    The only reason I know this is that the current issue of Gardening Australia has a feature on them by Maggie Beer (who is from SA, which makes sense because they’re certainly not common her in NSW) and she gives a recipe too – for poached loquats I think.

  19. it’s called bibass (beebass) it’s available here in my country too …its very sour in taste and we use it to make pickles …it’s a fruit used mostly for pickles as it is very sour in taste..when ripe it’s got brownish seeds..and its a very rare tree,,,even its seeds is difficults to grow when sowed..