Proper party food

We had a birthday party for my six year old daughters yesterday. I served proper party food – fat, sugar, and food colouring!

To wit:

Cocktail sausages (known by another name in NZ, but it’s trade marked).
red.jpg

Sausage rolls (thank you Alison Holst)
sausagerolls.jpg

Fairy bread
fairybread.jpg

Ham and egg club sammies. I always make some of these, so that I have at least tried to serve something that is ‘good’ food. I use wheatmeal bread, not for health reasons, but because I think it tastes better. Alas, the children never eat them, but that leaves plenty for the adults.
hamegg.jpg

Chippies, and tomato sauce. And herewith a tip for young players – serve individual dollops of tomato sauce in cupcake cases. It keeps the mess to a minimum.
chipstom.jpg

For dessert, rainbow jelly, fruit and lolly kebabs, and meringues. The rainbow jelly needs to be made over two or three days, but it’s not difficult. The children always pick the fruit off the kebabs, and eat the sweets, but at least I have tried. Don’t try to make meringues unless you have an electric mixer (I love my Kenwood), but if you do, they are very easy, and the children love them.
dessert.jpg

And of course, birthday cakes. Both girls wanted chocolate cakes this year.
cake2.jpg cake1.jpg

Yum, yum, yum. There’s nothing quite like a room full of 18 children on a sugar-high.

4 responses to “Proper party food

  1. 6 year-old twins? Snap!
    I’m impressed: we have hardly recovered enough to have birthday parties, let alone seperate cakes and 18 kids.
    I’m taking it as a sign of the practical good that can come from an education in philosophy ;-)

  2. SNAP indeed. Ours are identicals; if your twins are too, that would be even snappier.

    I enjoy doing the kids’ birthday parties. We had this one at the local recreation centre, where the staff played very energetic games with the children for an hour, and then we had the food upstairs. Great stuff.

    I have done various theme parties – a fairy party, a ribbon party, a pink party (rapidly seized on in lieu of “fairies and butterflies”), a garden party – it has been great fun. The menu never varies…

    The one I was proudest of was our elder daughter’s 3rd birthday party, when our twins were just 11 weeks old. Hard work, but it was very important for her to have a party that year.

    Philosophy has helped me to organise my thinking in orderly fashion. Perhaps it has helped me with party organisation too. On the other hand, I was an accountant before I studied philosophy (it’s a natural segue), so maybe it’s actually the accountant in me coming out.

  3. Belatedly…
    yes, identical twin girls.
    But I think of “identical” wrt genes and identity somewhat differently now! They are developing some distinct differences, and there’s a tiny uneducated science-brain part of me that wants to take observational notes.
    6 is a great age. Biddy and Julia (6 back in Feb, so a bit older) are starting to read longer books, and engage in games and dialogue peppered with some of the undigested “sophistication” of their teen sisters. They say things like “magic’s not real, is it?” but also talk quite a lot about the tooth fairy (they both have missing front teeth at the moment.)
    I admire your decision not to compromise parenting and money-work: it’s a hard one, and I think quite rare these days for people to come down on the side you did. Parent’s time, as you say, “doesn’t count”. In many ways- in the family itself, even. Marilyn Waring talked of how GDP ‘counts oil spills and wars as contributors to economic growth, while child-rearing and housekeeping are deemed valueless’. I’m sure there’s an accounting term for it- undeclared assets? ;-)

  4. Our girls are a great delight, most of the time, and highly entertaining. I find the identical / identity thing interesting too. I prefer German terms – one egg twins and two egg twins – which escape the ‘identical’ issues.

    I must write more about the parenting vs work decision one day. Thanks for your supportive words. I don’t think it’s a binary decision, and we have yet to see just how well it will go. I like earning an income. Nice point about Marilyn Waring’s analysis of GDP.